About Faith

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

 

20121110_124810

“Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1

and without faith it is impossible to please God.  Hebrews 11:6

I watched in church today as a blind lady made her way to the altar for communion. Though she could not see where she was going she walked confidently, her yellow Labrador leading the way. I thought about her trust, that is, her faith in her canine companion to lead her safely to where she needed to be. Such a simple picture of a trusting relationship….a person trusting the sight and good will of another.

I am convinced that is what God is looking for in me at present. God wants my implicit trust. He wants me to trust both His ability to lead me in the right direction and His goodness behind His motives. He tells us that we are to live our lives this way, walking by faith rather than by our sight. We are to trust Him with our whole heart. But in all honesty, I would rather be able to see where I’m going to make my faith walk easier. Trust is one thing. Complete and implicit trust is quite another.

Knowing this about me, I believe God in His love has at times led me to places where I cannot see at all, where I am unable to rely upon my sight. There I have a choice – to complain about the darkness and imagine the worst or trust the confession of the psalmist, “Nevertheless I am continually with You; You have taken hold of my right hand. With Your counsel You will guide me...” (Ps. 73:23).  I must admit that God has led me to this place many times. Many times I start out trusting Him but inevitably end up complaining about the darkness and imagining the worst is coming.  But in His love He keeps giving me opportunities to rise to a new level of faith and trust in Him.  He is very patient with me.

In that wonderful song Oceans by Hillsong there is a prayer that has become my own.

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Each day is a new opportunity to put our whole trust in Him. For that reason I thank Him for the darkness. I am grateful for His goodness and His faithfulness to lead me on a good path. I want my trust to be without borders. If I could see I would have no reason to trust. Today may my faith be made stronger in the presence of my Savior.

Leave a Reply

